Maui, Hawaii – day three

Warning, this post has SO many photos… but I cant help it. Photos truly fill me with joy and I love snapping away all day.

This morning Sidda and I were up with the sun at 6:30. technically, thats not the truth, the sun was much earlier than us- the sun rises early and sets early in Hawaii, due to its geographical location. That is OK with me, because by evening we are usually absolutely zonked, and Maui doesnt have much nightlife to write home about. There are bars of course but if I wanted a $12 martini… well, I wouldnt. For $12 I’d scooter down to Longs, get the ingredients, and I’d make my own. (Booze is cheap on the Islands and widely available, take note Utah).

Two hours later, after the boys dragged their butts out of bed, breakfast was eaten and lunches were packed, we were in the car headed for one of my favorite spots on the island, a little fishpond right in Kihei. The stone wall is maintained and was recently laboriously rebuilt, the Ko’ie’ie Loko Iʻa Fishpond. The fishpond is located in Kalepolepo Park (so it is often called the Kalepolepo fish pond), in Kihei, right next to Hawaiian Island Humpback Whale National Marine Sanctuary Visitors Center. I love this spot not only for its history and beauty but its never really crowded and mostly full of families, due to the safety of the pond. Big fish cant get in, little fish nom on the coral on the rock walls, and the water is waist deep at the deepest spot. I will not lie that my favorite aspect of the Fish Ponds is that sharks cannot get in. I know, I’m pathetic! 

After, a trip home for a little nap and some shade time before we headed out again to another one of my favorite places on the island, Makena. My favorite place in Makena is Keawala’i church. In 1832, missionaries founded a ministry at Makena and, in 1855, built Keawala’i Church out of lava rocks and cement or puna made from crushed coral cut from nearby reefs. Keawala’i means, “the calm bay.” To this day, church leaders still minister to an active congregation, and the historic church remains one of the more prominent historic landmarks in Makena. Although not a deeply religious person myself, I find churches to be fascinating and beautiful, and I feel truly at peace and calm in that place.

A little history lesson:

Hawaiians settled in small villages along the Makena shore. They came to fish and people from the uplands would come for the weekly hukilau, the seafood version of the luʻau.  The first settlers were thought to be followers of Moikeha, a Polynesian voyager believed to have arrived from Tahiti around 1300 A.D.  Many places along the Honua’ula coastline are said to be named for those voyagers Moikeha permitted to land and become established.

The shores of Honua’ula are where Kalani’opu’u, chief ruler of the Big Island of Hawaii, returned in 1776 to seek vengeance from an earilier defeat from Kahekili, ruler of Maui.  Kalani’opu’u and his warriors’ double-hulled canoes spanned miles of coastline from Keone’o’io to Makena.  While they ravaged the countryside, the people known as the “Makenans” fled into the brush.  This was at the same time as Captain Cook’s first landing on the Big Island.  Cook was met by Kalani’opu’u’s cousin, Kamehameha, who would later become King and unite all of Hawaii. It was just south of here that French explorer Jean-Francois de Galaup, Compte de La Pérouse, became the first non-Polynesian to set foot on Maui in 1786. The place where he landed is named after him: La Pérouse Bay.

The Makena name is derived from the word mak’ke, meaning, “many gathered”.  One story of the origin of the name involves the building of Po’okela church in Makawao.  Many people traveled to Makena to gather coral for building the church.  Passing the stones hand to hand.  The area is also steeped in legends of Pele, Hawaiian goddess of volcanoes.  It is said that Pele was jealous of the beautiful lizard maiden sunning herself on the south shore so she split the maiden in two in a fiery wrath, the head becoming Pu’u Ola’i, and the tail, Molokini islet.

A fishing shrine, or Ko’a, was located on top of Pu’u Ola’i, and there is also one on Nahuna point across Keawala’i bay.  These two landmarks were vectors to point to where the best deep-sea fishing place lies.  Most of the small heiaus that can still be seen today are Ko’as, also known as Ku’ula heiaus.  They are dedicated solely to the service of Ku’ula, god of fishing.

/end history geeking. So, after our trip to Makena we came home for more R&R, I uploaded and edited some photos and Brian and the kids went swimming once again- we’re in and out of the pool all day which suits me just fine! My parents have a TV outside and there is something satisfying about swimming while watching Adventure Time. MATHEMATICAL! My mom really wanted to take the kids skating so we headed down to the skating rink, strapped on some Inlines (Yeah 90’s!!) and they went for a spin. I sat this one out, its not that I dont like skating- but skating in a dress sounded like a bad idea. I made the kids re-create a photo I took about 3 years ago. I can hardly believe its been that long. The family are all cuddled up watching Discovery, soon to head to bed, and so ends another beautiful day in Maui. “Lucky come Hawaii”.

Then.... three years ago....

Then…. three years ago….

And now... 6/5/2013

And now… 6/5/2013

Leave a Reply

