Maui, Hawaii – Day Fourteen, Happy Fathers Day!

I haven’t been able to celebrate a fathers day with my dad since my parents moved to Maui three years ago, and even before that I can’t remember if I had the three years prior, since we lived in Utah; so it was really fun to spend the day with my dad and my kids. We miss Brian and I wish the kids had him with us today, but we called a lot and sent cards.

We are officially half way into our month long trip and in our last week of Maui adventures- we fly out right about now, a week from now, so its time to get all the getting done that needs to be do.. done.. well, I’ve had a few Kona Brewing company beers. You know what I mean.

Today we got up and headed to Lahaina’s “baby beach” for some snorkeling and sand castle building. Baby beach is a bit hidden, you park and walk down a beach access pathway between two homes. When you come out you are greeted with shade from palm trees all along the beach, white sands, coral reef, and a nice break that protects the beach from large waves… thus the name, baby beach. The coral provides ample opportunity for snorkeling and its a really friendly beach usually filled with locals. We made a fur friend today with Zack the lab-mix. Zack played fetch endlessly with anyone willing to throw the ball, when we left he was on 90 minutes of play and still not tired!

After, we stopped by the Lahaina Jodo Mission to see the Temple, the Great Buddha, The Pagoda, and The Bell Tower. It was BEAUTIFUL. You will see I snapped quite a few pictures. I really couldn’t resist.

We came home and made a yummy fathers day dinner, swam, and now we’re watching Braveheart- one of my dads favorite movies. A fitting end to fathers day, and a great day all around.

Leave a Reply

